About Us

Our Story

Live Five is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing a home for local professional theatre artists to develop their careers in Saskatchewan.

To achieve this we:

  • provide a support structure for artists to create their own work opportunities,

  • encourage collaboration between established and emerging artists, and

  • promote an environment of engagement and exploration between artists and audiences.

Since 2004, Live Five has been raising awareness of independent theatre productions and local professional artists in Saskatoon by combining multiple artistic visions from five local theatre companies into one powerful season. Run by an energetic board of directors, we do not produce the work, but rather invite artists to showcase their talent to our community while alleviating some of the stresses of producing, so they can remain focused on creating powerful pieces of theatre.

Live Five is seeking new Board Members

In addition to governance of the organization, the board is responsible for the administration and promotion of Live Five Independent Theatre and its programs.

What we're looking for:

  • Community members who are enthusiastic about engaging their peers in support of our mission to:
    • Provide a support structure for artists to showcase their work
    • Present a performance series of high quality productions
    • Encourage collaboration between established & emerging artists
    • Promote an environment of engagement and exploration between artists and audiences.
  • Individuals with experience serving on not-for-profit boards
  • Energetic professionals who have the time and dedication to devote to an active board, and who are eager to contribute their skills & expertise in one or more of the following areas:
    • Law
    • Finance/Accounting
    • Resource Development
    • Community Engagement  

Board Terms and Meetings:

Board meetings are held monthly, with an Annual General Meeting in October. Dedicated Strategic Planning sessions occur every three years. Board Members serve two-year terms, eligible for renewal, with no term limits.



  • Attending and assisting with opening nights and other Live Five special events.
  • Assisting with fundraising opportunities, which may include grant writing or helping out with our annual fundraiser - the Chefs' Gala & Showcase.
  • Contributing and adding value to discussions.
  • Acting in the best interests of Live Five and helping to ensure that all legal and financial responsibilities are being met.
  • Actively serving on at least one board committee and taking on special assignments as able based on each board member’s skill set.
  • Developing relationships within the Saskatoon community and serving as an ambassador for Live Five at conferences, workplaces and events with the goal of growing our subscriber base and creating outreach opportunities.

How to apply:

Please send a letter of interest & related experience to: infoREMOVE_THIS@livefiveREMOVE_THIS.ca.  Interested parties are invited to attend our AGM on Tuesday October 10th at 7pm at The Refinery Arts & Spirit Centre (609 Dufferin Ave). We encourage you to browse our website to learn more about our organization.

Board of Directors


President - Kate Herriot

Vice President - Elizabeth Nepjuk

Past President, Treasurer - Caitlin Hursh

Secretary - Aaron Hursh



Jasmin Carlton

Jaron Francis

Grahame Kent

Stephen Rutherford

Dylan Youngstrom


Live Five Saskatoon

Passing the mic over to you lovely folks tomorrow 🤓🎤 twitter.com/livefivetheatr…

Live Five Saskatoon

You talk, we listen! We’re opening up the floor to our artists...so speak up and be heard 🎤 pic.twitter.com/zp8HeHlVCV


Live Five wants your help. You talk We listen forum details on sasktheatreprofessionals.ca/news/ & #YouTalkWeListen @LiveFiveTheatre

Retweet Retweeted by Live Five Saskatoon


* indicates required